Pass the O

Oh, cool, I’m about to embark on my first meme, courtesy of DCup. Friends and I used to do these on the school bus back in high school. It was a fun way to pass the time on a long ride though the country.

The rules:

1. Put your music player on Shuffle

2. For each question, press the next button to get your answer.

3. YOU MUST WRITE THAT SONG NAME DOWN NO MATTER WHAT(this is in capital letters, so it is very serious.

MY ANSWERS: Disclaimer – I skipped passed song titles that were in foreign languages I couldn’t translate, and that was about 1/3 of the songs I encountered.

1. IF SOMEONE SAYS “IS THIS OKAY” YOU SAY? Blasphemy (Steel Pulse) I don’t think I would ever say that. Unless I were singing along with this song.

2. WHAT WOULD BEST DESCRIBE YOUR PERSONALITY? Jammin’ in Nijmegen (Cubanismo) Hey cool, I just looked it up and Nijmegen is a city in the Netherlands! And it’s the hometown of Eddie and Alex Van Halen. I’m sure I could hang there.

3. WHAT DO YOU LIKE IN A GUY/GIRL? Manha de Carnaval [carnival morning](Jobim/Gilberto) hmm, okay

4. HOW DO YOU FEEL TODAY? Aeroplane (Red Hot Chili Peppers)actually I’m not having the greatest day. Maybe an aeroplane to the home of Little Bang Theory for dinner would cure my funk

5. WHAT IS YOUR LIFE’S PURPOSE? My other phone is a boom car (They might be giants) I was tempted to press next for another answer here. I did and got “The great circle route” by Bela Fleck. Better.

6. WHAT IS YOUR MOTTO? Couldn’t Cause Me Harm (Beth Orton) Hmm dangerous motto.

7. WHAT DO YOUR FRIENDS THINK OF YOU? Fireball 45 (LaPush) Not so much, unless there is a lot a tequila involved.

8. WHAT DO YOU THINK OF YOUR PARENTS? Joy (Lucinda Williams) How sweet. I am lucky to have two sets of great parents, though.

9. WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT VERY OFTEN? La Rebellion (Orchestra Baobab) Fight the Power!!

10. WHAT IS 2+2? Snack Nation (Aphrodesia) Uh, whatever.

11. WHAT DO YOU THINK OF YOUR BEST FRIEND? Star Witness (Neko Case) She’s sharp and wonderful. So, yes.

12. WHAT DO YOU THINK OF THE PERSON YOU LIKE? Bonito y Sabroso [cute and delicious] Mmm Hmm

13. WHAT IS YOUR LIFE STORY? Desafinado [untuned](Getz/Gilberto) yep

14. WHAT DO YOU WANT TO BE WHEN YOU GROW UP? Ay Que Rico [Either wealthy or exquisite depending on how you translate it](Yambique)
yep

5. WHAT DO YOU THINK WHEN YOU SEE THE PERSON YOU LIKE? I’m not Ugly, You’re Not Either (The Jellydots) ha ha

16. WHAT DO YOUR PARENTS THINK OF YOU? Brave and Strong (Sly and the Family Stone)
My mom has actually expressed this. This game is spooky!

17. WHAT WILL YOU DANCE TO AT YOUR WEDDING? The Song Remains the Same (Led Zeppelin) Too late.

18. WHAT WILL THEY PLAY AT YOUR FUNERAL? Cariño Falso [false affection](Eliades Ochoa)This truly great. I swear this is random.

19. WHAT IS YOUR HOBBY/INTEREST? Compositor Confundido [Confused Composer](Ibrahim Ferrer) Actually one of my greatest wishes is to be able to compose and arrange music, but I have no aptitude for it whatsover.

20. WHAT IS YOUR BIGGEST SECRET? Satisfied Mind (Ben Harper with the Blind Boys of Alabama)
It’s not that secret.

21. WHAT DO YOU THINK OF YOUR FRIENDS? Secret Love (Ry Cooder w/ Manuel Galban)
Hey, haven’t we all fantasized from time to time?

22. WHAT SHOULD YOU POST THIS AS? Pass the O (Yogoman Burning Band)

Okay, I’m going to tag nato and Gonzo DNA

2 Responses to “Pass the O”


  1. 1 DCup December 3, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    I’m so glad you picked up this meme! Isn’t it fun? Your song titles were eerily relevant. That makes it even more interesting.

    Thanks for the link!

  2. 2 Nathan December 10, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    Er, I should probably wait until I get the Time-Life “Sounds of the Eighties” off my player.


Leave a Reply

