Spawned Out

This is me with my Papa.
papa1970.jpg
We have always been tight.

papaglacier1971.jpg
tandbandpapa.jpgxmas1989.jpg

We had a great Thanksgiving visit last year. I remember thinking this could be the last picture of us and I made sure we took one. Three weeks later he was gone.
papantj.jpg

Mom surprised us with this gorgeous song on Yaquina head as we remembered Papa on his birthday last August. Imagine it sung in a strong deep Irish brogue.

My Father
Dedicated to Chuck Sipman
By Cherie Ware

My Father was a fisherman
He fished along the shore
He fished the rivers and the lakes
He loved them even more

My father loved his family
And he felt his duty strong
I always felt a safty there
Surrounded by his arms

My father taught me how to fish
He shared his passion well
It’s how you fish that matters most
You must be very still

My father became Papa
When grandchildren came along
He also taught them how to fish
And now they’re grown and strong

My father is an eagle now
He fishes from the shore
He fishes rivers and the lakes
Now he’s fishing evermore

Shortly after she finished Papa flew overhead in the form of a Bald Eagle, then disappeared for good over the hillside.

We will always remember you.

8_4_07fampic.jpg

Today I remembered Papa at the rivers’ confluence, with eagles and human fishermen about. And of course there are the rotting carcasses, of the salmon who live a life in the ocean and return to the place of their birth to give their bodies back. They feed the birds, feed the bears, feed the coyote, and finally feed the giant trees, who need the ocean’s minerals to become so grand. Papa understood that. He and Nana have always modeled respect for the earth and all people, and those values connect all our family now.

I knew he would like it here, so I brought him out to the river with me today.
(Hey Papa, did you see the steelhead guys were pulling out of the Cascade this morning!? Look at the next pic)
steelheadfisher.jpg
I love you, Papa.
papa.jpg
Charles Henry Joaquin Sipman
August 3, 1924 – December 16, 2006

6 Responses to “Spawned Out”


  1. 1 Kathy December 17, 2007 at 12:53 am

    “What would you want done with your ashes, dad?”, I asked as we celebrated Nana’s birthday a year ago in October. We were sitting together at the dining room together sharing breakfast and talking about what we would do with our bodies after we died. No subject was off limits for us as we talked and laughed together. “Well”, he said, ” I would want my ashes where they would do the most good. Giving nourishment to the earth or plants.” So now we spread Papa’s ashes. In Paulina Lake where we watched an eagle dive and grab a kokanee. (Was that you Papa?)near Papa’s favorite trolling area, on the beaches and points of northern California, in the rivers of Washington and the headlands of Oregon. In the Deschuttes and in the dog park across 12th St in Bend. Papa’s ashes are giving nourishment to the creatures and plants in many places. Thank you,Tanya,for this beautiful piece on that great man. Spawned out-but still giving to the rest of us.

  2. 2 Cherie December 17, 2007 at 9:11 am

    My Father is a Redwood now, he’s buried deep inside.
    the trees will grow around him and there he will abide.

    My Father’s deep inside the cave, protected from the rain.
    He has a view of dogs and kids, and there he will remain.

    A candle was lit for him inside the cave and a wreath of flowers placed beside his resting place. I sang him his song, and spent time thinking of him and all the wonderful lessons he taught us through the example of his life. My Dad gave us unconditional love.
    We all love you so much Papa!

    I am so proud of my wonderful daughter. Thank you for sharing this memorial with us.

  3. 3 littlebangtheory December 19, 2007 at 7:22 am

    Tanya, this was beautiful and very touching. My own Dad, as per his request, is buried along side my Mom.

    I myself would prefer a “green burial,” but it’s not easily done here in the populous Northeast. Perhaps cremation will be my alternative, as I’d like to return to Mother Earth from whom I came.

    Thanks for posting this very personal remembrance.

  4. 4 dcup December 21, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    This is lovely. What a wonderful tribute to you father.

  5. 5 beatgrl December 22, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    Papa was my grandfather. That was my mom and aunt writing above.


Leave a Reply

