Shine

Last night I invited some friends for dinner at casa beatgrl (Carne Asada Tacos and guacamole in case you are wondering) As per usual, we lauched into a lively discussion about the future of our country. I was inspired by Tuesday’s Shakesville QOTD — Melissa had asked folks to talk about about what they like about Hillary Clinton and Barack Obama. It was a great thread! Well, I wanted to know what my Bellingham tribe had to say. (Hint: There seems to be a huge Obama wave coming from over here.) Turns out I was the lone undecided holdout in the group!

Here’s why: I feel like I’m making a choice between style and substance. Listening to Barack on the radio one night I was moved to tears, but later I wondered if I’d been manipulated. I know Hillary will work her ass off for me, she’s smart and ready, but didn’t she vote for the war?

Then we all entertained the vision of a McCain-Clinton matchup. Ugly.

I suppose at the end of the evening our consensus was that after all we’ve been through, we desperately need someone who can inspire. Oh wow, I know his is cliched but I just thought about “the goal, before this decade is out, of landing a man on the moon and returning him safely to the earth” and got chills. I want chills. The world needs a huge helping of groovy love style and vision coming from the USA. Man I love the idea of breaking away from the old school and putting some shine back on the Presidency.

Of course neither of the front runners has suggested fixing our broken economic system or stifling corporate power. That’s another post (See Little Bang Theory.)

Right now we need someone with the savvy to give us hope as well as a hand to help us climb out of the dark hole we fell into 7 years ago. Won’t it be nice to feel some American pride again? Clinton will jump in and start cleaning up W’s mess, but it will be painful. Could Obama do the same and also heal our bitter partisan divide and reunite this country around a common purpose? Maybe, but what could that purpose be? He hasn’t given us many specifics, other than “change.”

Psst, Barack, There’s always Mars.

3 Responses to “Shine”


  1. 1 Nathan February 1, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    It sucks over here in the “Inland” Northwest. My guy quit the race. No, not Tancredo, dammit! Edwards. Damned quitter. Once I overcome my bitterness, I supposed I’ll go for Obama’s style, as I don’t trust Hillary to do much about Operation Clusterfuck or whatever it is we’re calling the war in Iraq and Afghanistan these days.

  2. 2 seldom seen February 1, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    for a little boost of hope and humanity, I recommend the fairly recently published paperback, “Three Cups of Tea”. It was a hot seller at Barnes and Nobles over the holiday season.

    politics and politicians are not the source of positive and pro-active change. It is all about the village, the tribe, and accord.

  3. 3 littlebangtheory February 1, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    ‘grl, I’m struggling with the same dilemma: Obama Got Sauce, but where’s the beef? And I’d love to vote for the First Woman President, especially one who I believe to be so damned capable, but I fear she’s wholly owned by The Big Corporations (and Bill did sell us little people down the river with NAFTA et.al.)

    Yeah, my heart sank when We The People quit on Edwards; he was saying what needed to be said about corporate power and the dying middle class.

    And ss, I heard the author of “Three Cups” do a radio interview; the book sounded very moving indeed!


Leave a Reply

