A Parent’s Nightmare

This morning I saw a newspaper headline about an 7 year old boy from Bellingham who has been missing for nearly three days after he disappeared from a beach on Vancouver Island while vacationing with his family.

Whenever I hear about things happening to children my own son’s age, I can’t help putting myself in that parents’ place for just a moment, empathising with what they are going through. I was instantly transported back to the the panic and fear I experienced that day several years ago when I lost track of my own son for only a few minutes near a large body of water.

Since I especially related to today’s story, as soon as I got home from work I went online to check on the progress of the search. There was a photograph.

william-missing-cp-4359409.jpg

My heart sank. I know that face. It’s William, a sweet boy I know, a friend of my son’s. David and Camilla’s little boy. The anguish they must be going through right now I can only imagine. I hope we have some answers soon.

2 Responses to “A Parent’s Nightmare”


  1. 1 dcup February 18, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    Oh, Beatgirl! This is such an awful thing. My heart goes out to them, too. We once lost track of our son who was about two at the time. We were at a carnival on the riverbank. My heart has never raced so fast.

  2. 2 Oceanrevery February 21, 2008 at 6:59 am

    I had the pleasure of spending several hours in the pool with William at your boy’s birthday party. He was sweet, trusting and delightful. He was not a good swimmer. I grieve for him and his family. I know you grieve, Beatgirl, and feel for you.
    We want our boys to grow up free and full of play. But we have also to watch out for them. This is especially true around ocean and mountains.
    I hope William’s parents will one day be able to … carry on and live without the tremendous burden that must weigh on them right now.


Leave a Reply

