Question of the day

Ketchup
heinz_ketchup.jpg
Or Mustard?
mustardskagit.jpg

I’ve noticed that people’s tastes run to one side or the other. Some are drawn to the sweet and mild, some to the bite of vinegar.

Do you enjoy pickles, olives, a smear of Dijon on cheese? You are a mustard.

Do you put ketchup on your breakfast potatoes and love baked beans with your dogs? Ketchup.

I’m definitely a mustard. Despite using tomato based sauces in most things I cook, I can’t even eat breakfast foods off a plate that’s been contaminated with ketchup. Give me some chipotle tabasco on those potatoes, please.

My informal survey of teh internetz leads me to believe ketchup is more popular. This is Ketchup Restaurant in West Hollywood:
ketchup-chef.jpg

But then mustard does have its own museum in Mt Horeb, Wisconson.
outtamustard.jpg

I’m sure we can all get along. I’m in a mixed marriage myself.

4 Responses to “Question of the day”


  1. 1 DCup March 23, 2008 at 6:03 am

    Oh, my! Just like many things in my life I go both ways! I love both and mix the two often.

    Please note I do not go both ways with politics.

  2. 2 DR. Monkey March 23, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Yay mustard!

  3. 3 Nathan March 26, 2008 at 11:11 am

    Mustard, but I like a bit of ketchup on my fries. That, or malt vinegar and mayo. What does my affinity for hot and sweet mustard say about me?

  4. 4 konagod March 26, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Mustard all the way. Despite the fact that I do like ketchup on fries and onion rings, I can’t imagine putting it on much else including a burger. If I can have a thick slice of tomato, I’ll go with salsa.

    I’m also a bit of a specific snob regarding ketchup. Heinz is what I grew up with and if I had to use Hunt’s when eating out I’d just recoil and protest. Only recently have I compromised and been able to accept Central Market Organic ketchup.

    But when I comes to mustard, I like lots of variety.


Leave a Reply

