Missing person

Ed and Chris behind the bar at Romeos

I was just thinking back on my boozy college days and wondering what happened to my friend and co-worker Ed O’Leary. That’s him on the left and Chris Dunn on the right (another lost friend!) They were our fantastic bartenders at Romeo’s on Barton Springs road.

It was Halloween 1994. Remember that night? I’m not sure I would if I didn’t have pictures to prove I was there. I do remember cruising sixth street with Monica and Ed. Many bars were visited, go-go dancing was involved and, based on my photo album, some activities took place in a hotel (?!) room. Ah, good times.

Anyway, Ed was a real sweetheart, and we became close during a very rough period in his life. Not long after this, Ed took off for snowboarding in Salt Lake City and I moved to the northwest. We lost touch (my fault) and I have not been able to find him since. I wonder how things have turned out. Ed, I hope you google yourself sometime and find this.

Cheers, T

4 Responses to “Missing person”


  1. 1 Oceanrevery September 21, 2008 at 10:34 am

    Ah college days… Those we remember, anyway.

  2. 2 seldom seen September 21, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    sixth street is still jammin and boozier than ever, if possible, as of last March 08. Don’t know about Romeo’s, Barton Springs Road has undergone massive “urban renewal” since 1994. The Deep Eddy swimming pool on Lake Austin Blvd has undergone much needed renovation in recent years. There is a very cool texas historical museum now, near the capitol, on Guadalupe St., I believe. It actually tells a close approximation of the truth, Alamo, Oil, etc., instead of the bombastic texas superiority mythology.
    happy anniversary!🙂

  3. 3 Holly O'Leary March 9, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    I’m writing to let you know I can tell you I know EXACTLY where Ed O’Leary is!! This morning he woke up in our bed, bumbled to the kitchen to fill a pint glass (yes, ONLY a pint glass…never a mug) with strong coffee, donned his headphones and a his laptop to read some morning news before heading to work at a scenic shop here in Portland, OR. Right now he’s likely eating his lunch and will be heading home around 2:30 to grab his gym clothes for a bit of a sweat before coming home.

    Hi! My name is Holly O’Leary and I have had the incredible good fortune of meeting Ed in April of 2005 and becoming his wife later that year. We live in Portland which, from a quick scan of your blog, is not too far from where you are. Unfortunately, he has not ever worn that amazing orange crocheted outfit for me personally (but I would love it if he did!). I do know of it and (most of) the antics and his life in Austin. In fact, just this weekend we sat our butts on the couch with some cocktails and pulled out many old photos of which the bright orange duds were a part. Lots of Austin pics and S.L.C. too. Not sure how that snowboarding ever panned out for Ed but SLC life led him eventually back to Portland. I’ll let him fill you in on the rest. But first, tell me your name so I can tell him which long lost friend has been looking for him!

    You’re more than likely wondering how I found your “Missing Person” post. Well, as freelance graphic designer here at home, sometimes I get a distracting spark in my brain leading me far, far away from any work I had been doing. Today’s notion had me type Ed’s name into Google and hit send. I was amazed and excited to see that orange pants suit! So, my very random thought may have very well re-connected you two! Happy to help! I will tell Ed you are searching and send him your way. Have a lovely day!
    -hollyo’

  4. 4 Holly O'Leary March 9, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    P.S. You can find Ed on FaceBook too if you’re out there like the rest of us middle-aged farts!
    -h.


Leave a Reply

