The nature of attraction

I was wondering, readers, do you believe we are emitting odorless chemicals into the air all the time and the right mixture can make us all kinds of crazy?  I’ve decided I do believe it. Here’s one example:

There’s a certain checkout guy at my favorite grocery store here in town. He’s fairly good looking, tall, probably early 20s, with often bloodshot eyes and messy hair which gives him an “I just got out of bed” look. Well, I swear this guy must be pumping out some serious pheromones because whenever I end up in his line I actually go through physical changes. My heart starts pumping, my hands shake, I drop things, and I have to concentrate so hard on keeping my cool and not staring at him that I forget to enter my PIN in the machine. I don’t even know this guy’s name, and we have no friendship or emotional connection at all. In fact, one day I tried to make conversation and he was, oh how can I put it nicely, clueless.

But every time he looks at me he smiles and his eyes dance and it feels like I’m being seduced. Then I feel totally exposed and embarrassed, as if he knows he has this power over me. There’s no way a young buck like this guy has any interest in an old lady like me. I know I am not interested in him. So why the reaction every time I see him? I meet many many gorgeous men and women (oh, yes, the mountain climbers!) at my job and I can appreciate their attractiveness but it doesn’t turn me into a bumbling fool. And then some random guy at the store just kicks me on my ass. Why?

Anyway, the checkout guy effect, like all crushes, it will fade away in time until it seems ridiculous. I just want to know why these things happen. Could there really be a secret subconscious chemical thing going on between all of us all the time? Does it effect everyone or only certain people and dogs? I remember reading somewhere that there are no studies showing that pheromones are real but I don’t believe it.  I know that I have felt a connection between me and my child that is primal and instinctual. I think parents and children form these bonds by touching and smelling each other.

Have you ever been affected by a total stranger, just floored for no reason at all? Do you believe in “chemistry?”

6 Responses to “The nature of attraction”


  1. 1 dcup September 26, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    Yes, I do believe in chemistry. That’s why I get in so much trouble.😉

  2. 2 Dr. Monkey September 27, 2008 at 6:14 am

    Why you “old” horn dog you. 🙂

  3. 3 Nathan September 28, 2008 at 11:35 am

    Of course I believe in chemistry; why do you think I’ve given up bathing? Eventually, I’ll reach the right level of sexy smells to drive all the women crazy. Or choke to death on my own stench.

  4. 4 Daniel September 29, 2008 at 8:21 am

    are you sure it’s not the “I just got fucked” look?

  5. 5 beatgrl September 29, 2008 at 9:05 am

    Daniel, I was just too polite to spell it out quite so bluntly, he he. But that is a strong possibility.

    BTW, I haven’t seen checkout guy in ages, but if our paths cross again I’ll give you guys an update on whether the power is still in effect.

    I forgot to mention that it was Dan Savage that got me thinking about this. The other day he and all the writers at SLOG were on a “sexy armpit” kick.

  6. 6 RichC October 8, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    Give urself some credit. I know you don’t appear to be an “old lady” you vixen!


Leave a Reply

