What is it?

This thing just landed in our downtown “arts district” the other day:

skewer

It looks to me like some kind of alien shish kabob/air raid siren/big brother spy pole/shuttlecock. But what do I know?

Here’s another angle taken out the window of a my car. I’m wondering whether it is meant to be tilted, like it may crash into that building at any time. Or have they just not finished installing it yet?

skewer2

I used to drive right through this new plaza every day on my way home from work, but now the street is gone. Those pedestrians think they are so superior.

For the record I’m glad there is a big weird thing downtown. The lights shining out of the Mexican lantern part are really pretty, too.

Bonus: Here is the original site plan for this corner, found at the city’s website. Nothing here to prepare us for what landed.

street-improvements

2 Responses to “What is it?”


  1. 1 DCup December 1, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    I haven’t a clue, but it’s interesting!

  2. 2 Nathan December 1, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    I KNEW I’d left my industrial-strength eroscillator somewhere . . .


Leave a Reply

