Spring things

Happy spring everybody!! What’s up? Well, here’s what S and D are doing right now:
spaceship
They are making a spaceship I believe. And now for a bunch of randomness:

I really like walking around my town. Having the ipod encourages me to walk even more. How else I I going to listen to all those Savage Love and This American Life podcasts, not to mention Sacred Dub, baby! One drawback is I don’t feel comfortable singing out loud on the sidewalk. Not like I do in the car. That’s my main rehearsal space!

Then there are the other people on the sidewalks. Am I the only one who goes through a whole range of awkwardness and discomfort when someone else is coming toward me on the same side of the street?

When do you make eye contact? Do you make eye contact?

Do you say hello, or nod, or pretend the other person isn’t there? We don’t really have social norms about this, being such a car culture. When you are on a crowded city street it’s not a big deal, but in a quiet neighborhood where there is no one else around it’s just weird. You can see each other coming for a couple blocks. I get tense when that happens. So, do I cross the street? Or fiddle with my ipod? Or intently study some landscaping or architecture off to the side? Usually I try not to make eye contact until I’m close enough to say hello. When there are dogs present it’s a huge relief. A socially acceptable thing to look at. Babies in strollers are good for this too.

I’m unemployed right now, which you’d think would give me a lot of free time but strangely I seem to have less. And the free time I do have I’m usually paralyzed with guilt about my choices: housework, “projects” (oh, the tupperware and jar cupboard! And the boxes of photos! And the piles of paper!), helping the hubster at his office, or any of a number of “responsible” things. It’s hard to just relax and take a walk, or a nap, or watch 8 episodes of one TV show in a row (Ahh, the DVD age.)

I have dsl now. My music life is wonderful now. I actually used to download podcasts and albums on dialup. It was awful. Now a whole world is at my fingertips. Yes.

Thanks, Chaz, for the TV show recommendation.

Good ole Al Swearingen

Good ole Al Swearingen

Deadwood is awesome. I’m trying not to go through it too fast. It must be savored. I have to watch my language when I emerge from a viewing session, though. Goddamn, those fucking cocksuckers in Deadwood sure have a way with profanity!

I have more random shit but that is all for now. I’ll leave you with some celebrity crushes:

Jemaine Clement

Jemaine Clement

Kate Winslet

Kate Winslet

4 Responses to “Spring things”


  1. 1 vandanls March 21, 2009 at 11:07 am

    ur back! yay! hmmm… deadwood: sounds interesting. as far as looking someone in the eye when they walk by on the street, do so if they’re hot and say “hi” in the process… it’s funny to watch people’s reactions. some freak out, but most i think genuinely appreciate the attention.

  2. 2 Cherie March 21, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Deadwood, Yeah, a strange cross of profanity mixed with elegant elocutions and Shakespearean phraseology. I really liked seeing the evolution of the town and the rising power of the women and how their roles change.

    I love to make eye contest first, when close enough, smile and say hello. I feel better to have connected and although some people are caught surprised or freak out, I think it’s an easy way to make your day better and maybe theirs.

  3. 3 Oceanrevery March 21, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Definitely check them out and smile if it is your neighborhood unless you are really cought up in your own thoughts. In that case trust them to give you space. That is our culture. If I am just meandering about, I like to watch them from afar – establish some basic stereo typical parameters – then look at other things until they are within clear visibility distance. At the proper point, look up, look them in the eye and smile. If they aren’t looking back assess them further and look for them to glance at you, the proper moment to smile, perhaps say hello. If they are also home in the surroundings, the exchange will be nothing but good. It will be clear if they don’t want your attention and giving them their space need not be awkward. If they do not belong there it is good that they know they are seen. The neighborhood is aware of their presence. They are not invisible.

  4. 4 Lisa March 22, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Hi! I didn’t realize you’re unemployed, but it sounds like things are going well. I totally get the passing on the sidewalk awkwardness. Living out where we do, I’m totally out of practice. And I’d be jealous of your DLS, but that we would be rude, I think. Thankfully, we’re moving and will finally have DSL in about a week. I can’t wait!

    I got so jazzed up reading this because I realized I’ll be able to download podcasts of the NPR shows I never catch in real time. Thanks for telling me about that!


Leave a Reply

