Favorite things

This kitchen gadget makes me very very happy.

Lime juicer

Lime juicer

If you ever juice limes or lemons for cooking or mixed drinks you must buy one of these. Your struggles will be over. It is SO easy! And it really extracts the juice. Here’s what you could be drinking:

Beatgrl’s Margarita Recipe
1 oz tequila
1/2 ounce triple sec (or even better, Grand Marnier or Cointreau)
Juice of 1 lime
1/2 teaspoon agave sweetener (optional)
A splash of cranberry juice (optional)

Start with lots of ice in your highball-sized glass (or pint glass if you are going to double it like we usually do – oops!)
Pour the liquor over the ice. Squeeze the lime juice into the glass using the wonderful squeezer pictured above. Squirt in the agave and stir. Splash cranberry juice in. Taste and add more tequila as needed. Experiment with various fresh juices. Enjoy!

Disclaimer: I never measure so I’m guessing at the amounts above. And I have no liquor so I can’t test it, dangit! I’m sure I will be refining this recipe and I’ll let ya’ll know what I come up with.

I got mine at the gourmet kitchen store in Fairhaven. If you don’t have one of those there is always the interwebz!

2 Responses to “Favorite things”


  1. 1 Lisa March 26, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    Ooooh, I dig this toy! I love margaritas. We’ll have to try your recipe and toast you.

  2. 2 natoslug March 28, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    We’ve got a darker green version of one of these wonders, although since we seem to have huge mutant limes here, I wish it were larger. We frequently have to use our larger citrus press, which also works wonders on grapefruits. mmmm . . . grapefruit . . . gently mixed with Pearl cranberry vodka . . .


Leave a Reply

